Search the Website

Awards History

Each Year attendees and artists alike vote for various awards for both Artists & Sculptors

Western Visions Awards

Red Smith Award
People’s Choice Award
Trustee Purchase Award
Robert Kuhn Award
Featured Painters
Featured Sculptor

Red Smith Award

Each Year, attending Western Visions® artists vote for the Red Smith Award recipient. The winning artist is awarded a $1000 cash prize, and a full-page ad in Fine Art Connoisseur magazine. The award is sponsored by Fine Art Connoisseur.

2020 T. Allen Lawson
2019 Lindsay Scott
2018 William Alther
2017 Edward Fraughton
2016 George Arthur Carlson
2015 Timothy David Mayhew
2014 Daniel W. Pinkham
2013 Walter Matia
2012 Jim Morgan
2011 Timothy Shinabarger
2010 Steven Devenyns
2009 Thomas Quinn
2008 Steve Kestrel & Greg McHuron
2007 Jim Morgan
2006 Harley Brown
2005 Greg Beecham
2004 Walter Matia
2003 Greg McHuron
2002 Howard Rodgers
2001 Mian Situ
2000 Skip Whitcomb
1999 Bob Kuhn
1998 Clyde Aspevig
1997 Matt Smith
1996 Jim Morgan
1995 T. Allen Lawson
1994 Bob Kuhn
1993 Bill Reese
1992 Len Chimiel
1991 Skip Whitcomb
1990 Clark Hulings

People’s Choice Award History

The People’s Choice Award is generously sponsored by Southwest Art magazine and is given to the public’s favorite artwork from the Show & Sale. Each person submits one vote during the week of the show for his or her favorite artwork.

2020 Lennart Sand
2019 Mary Roberson
2018 John Serrey-Lester
2017 John Serrey-Lester
2016 Edward Aldrich
2015 Adam Smith
2014 Ewoud de Groot
2013 Britt Freda
2012 Mary Roberson
2011 Daniel Smith
2010 Donald Crowley
2009 Greg Beecham
2008 Daniel Smith
2007 Steve Kestrel
2006 Jim Morgan
2005 Brenda Murphy

Trustee Purchase Award

The Trustee Purchase Award is given to one artist for a single artwork entered in the Show & Sale.  National Museum of Wildlife Art Trustees will vote for the Purchase Award and the winning artwork will become a part of the Museum’s acclaimed permanent collection.

2020 John Banovich
2019 Mark Eberhard
2018 Robert Glen
2017 Kathryn Mapes Turner
2016 Brad Rude
2015 Rox Corbett
2014 Timothy David Mayhew
2013 Britt Freda
2012 Ralph Oberg
2011 Mark Eberhard
2010 September Vhay
2009 Greg McHuron
2008 Chris Bacon

Robert Kuhn Award

This award is named for a great friend of the Museum, the late Bob Kuhn. The Robert Kuhn Award will go to the best submission in the category of artists’ sketches as determined by a panel of judges. Sketches by painters and sculptors are eligible. (No sketch component in 2021)

2020 Linsday Scott
2019 Steve Devenyns
2018 George Boorujy
2017 William Sawczuk
2016 Kyle Sims
2015 Kathy Wipfler
2014 Chad Poppleton
2013 Pete Zaluzek
2012 Andrew Denman
2011 Mary Roberson
2010 Timothy David Mayhew
2009 Mort Solberg
2008 John Potter

Featured Painters History

2014 Ewoud de Groot
2013 Mark Eberhard
2012 Tucker Smith
2011 Daniel Smith
2010 Mary Roberson
2009 Lindsay Scott
2008 Donna Howell-Sickles
2007 Carl Brenders
2006 Richard Murray
2005 Dave Wade
2004 Jim Morgan
2003 Carl Brenders
2002 Bob Kuhn
2001 Tucker Smith
2000 Scott Christensen
1999 Robert Bateman
1998 Lanford Monroe
1997 Michael Coleman
1996 Bob Kuhn

Featured Sculptor History

2014 Gwynn Murrill
2013 Veryl Goodnight
2012 Richard Loffler
2011 Bart Walter
2010 Simon Gudgeon
2009 Leo E. Osborne
2008 Tim Cherry
2007 Bill Rice
2006 Ken Bunn
2005 Dan Ostermiller
2004 Walter Matia
2003 Tim Shinabarger
2002 Gerald Balciar
2001 Kent Ullberg
2000 Richard Loffler
1999 Sandy Scott
What People Are Saying

This museum was not only beautiful but expansive in its art collections. We visited with our 9 yr.-old granddaughter and she thoroughly enjoyed it as much as we did.

- lindahjensen, Greensboro, NC

The Museum App

Download the Museum app and experience the museum in a whole new way. Explore. Enjoy. Learn. Available for Apple and Adroid devices.

Discover the App
Subscribe to Our eNews

Subscribe to our e-newsletter to stay up to date on what’s happening.